South Dakota Becomes Latest State to Allow Permitless Carry

south dakota

On January 31, 2019, the State of South Dakota became the latest state to affirm the Second Amendment with the signing of permitless carry bill SB47 into law, according to the Free Beacon. SB 47 repeals the regulations requiring a concealed carry permit in the State of South Dakota.

It allows South Dakotans the right to choose whether or not to obtain a carry permit. It does not change the regulations for who is not allowed to have a firearm, such as convicted felons. If they are legally able to own a firearm, they will be legally able to carry it concealed.

The bill passed the South Dakota House 47-23 and the Senate 23-11 with one abstention. The NRA celebrated the signing of the bill:

“On behalf of the NRA’s five-million members, we would like to thank Governor Noem for her leadership on this critical issue. This law is a common sense measure that allows law-abiding South Dakotans to exercise their fundamental right to self-protection in the manner that best suits their needs.” Chris W. Cox, executive director of the NRA-ILA

The only place where people will not be able to carry a concealed firearm will be the Statehouse in Pierre. Senators voted 22-10 against a bill that would have allowed concealed weapons holders to carry in state buildings, according to Fox. The bill was sponsored by Republican Stace Nelson, who said the Statehouse was “not secure.” It would have been more secure if people could carry there.

The bill was not without its detractors. Everytown for Gun Safety said the bill would have “disastrous effects”… but they always say that. It is forever amazing that their consistent fear mongering is ignored by any state that goes the direction of South Dakota.

Democrats and the South Dakota sheriffs organization stood against the bill, primarily because it allowed  nonresidents to carry without a permit. The new bill allowed non-residents to carry in South Dakota as well. The legislature is currently looking at a bill to restrict the carriers to South Dakota residents, according to The Hill.

The 14 states that have gone to permitless carry are: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire,  North Dakota, South Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming. Some of these states have a restriction for residents only.


Featured photo: Kristi Noem for Governor website